a big girl christmas

merry christmas from the jolly/lyon kids!

merry christmas from the jolly/lyon kids!

After what has possibly been the longest – and most fun – festive season ever, Christmas is actually over. I’m mildly depressed about this, but at the same time, I think this might have been my favourite yet. Coming home from uni for Christmas is always one of my favourite things, and this year was particularly novel as my little brother was the one to pick me up from the station. We made a brief pitstop at Waitrose on the way home to pick up some mince pies (I was outraged to hear that there were none in the house) and when we got home I was given the honour of choosing what we had for dinner – possibly my very favourite thing about coming home.

Christmas really began on Saturday 22nd, when we had a ‘Cava and Canapes’ party at home (definitely an event we need to instigate in the Submarine). It was lovely to see everybody and catch up, and the evening inevitably wound up in a long reminiscing session about our trip to Disney World earlier this year which is always fun.

cava and canapes

cava and canapes

Obviously this was merely a warm up for the big event, though. This year for the first time we were spending Christmas with my aunt and her family up in Hull, so on Christmas Eve (after braving a surprisingly unstressful trip to Waitrose) we piled up everything in the car and headed up North.ย We met the rest of the gang at a restaurant called Fudge, where they were just finishing up dinner. This was perfect timing as it meant that we got to indulge in a) wine and b) dessert. Dom and I originally ordered banoffee crepes but they didn’t have those in so the waitress offered us a selection of baked goods from the counter. This worked out very well for us as we got the secret, unadvertised carrot cake which was possibly the best carrot cake I have ever tasted (second only to the frozen version from Cook which still upholds the standard). It was only really us in the restaurant, which left my youngest cousin free to Gangnam Style his way around the room – always a bonus.

The kids, needless to say, were ridiculously excited, and so eventually we returned to the house and managed to pack them all off to bed. Then came possibly the most exciting – and also the strangest – part of all: the part where I actually got to be Santa. A sure sign that I am officially old!

for santa himself

for santa himself

Christmas Day itself was basically perfect. The kids were so excited and there was so much glitter and so many presents: between the six of us cousins, there was at least half an hour where there was not a square inch of floor visible.ย Having the kids around also meant that we got to play with their toys, which meant that in between all the cooking, drinking and festive madness, we spent the day playing Operation, Buzz the Wire and Just Dance 4 (most fun ever and the perfect way to burn off Christmas calories!), and ended the evening with a rowdy game of Twister.

concentration needed

concentration needed

There was also ample Bucks Fizz – I was told I was setting the drinking stakes – and, in another sure sign that I am Properly Grown Up, I somehow enlisted myself to help with the cooking, along with my aunt and great aunt, both in various states of intoxication. Everything made its way to the table though and everyone enjoyed, and we all had a fab time.

even the turkey had festive headgear

even the turkey had festive headgear

I should also add that Santa did bring me some gorgeous presents too, including the Longchamp bag I have long been lusting after, my much-needed perfume, a ridiculously sparkly skirt, and a fox hat with matching mittens. What else could a girl want in life?!

Leave a Reply

