in the city

Yesterday, I had to return to London for an interview. It was south of the river, where I don’t go very often, so obviously I seized upon the chance to meet up with one of my best friends from school, Lottie, and have a little explore around Borough Market.

IMG_1644

I was particularly taken by these chocolates. Sea Salt & Caramel is one of my favourite flavours right now – I’m super original, I know – and I would have loved to try it with vanilla, and elderflower truffles? Interesting!

IMG_1645

I also LOVED the look of these adorable owl cookies…

IMG_1646

And, on the same stand, these super cool cinnamon elephant biscuits!

IMG_1647

Apparently the only pictures I took were of cakes – but really, these cookies were the size of my face and this stall also boasted the most enormous, crushed-macaron-garnished meringues I have ever seen. Definitely one of the most impressive stands we saw!

IMG_1650

After making an initial round, we had to make the difficult decision of what to get for lunch. I was very tempted by the various exotic meats on display – we saw a lot of wild boar, venison, and even camel which tempted me – but in the end I decided I am just too BBQ/sausage-d out and opted for a falafel & salad wrap from Arabica.

IMG_1652

IMG_1655

The falafel was SO good, I forgot what a difference having it fresh makes – it was so crunchy on the outside and nice and soft in the middle. Lottie went for a halloumi veggie burger that we had spied a whole lot of people carrying around – obviously a popular choice!

IMG_1653

After my interview I was by myself and had a couple of hours to kill, so I decided it would be rude not to pop into Selfridges. I got dangerously close to purchasing a gorgeous blue Tory Burch clutch/purse, so I distracted myself with an Alphabet Bag. It was the only B on the wall and they were reduced to Β£3 – I had to do it. Then, of course, it was time for the Foodhall. Somehow I’ve never been here before and oh my God, I could have stayed forever. I kept being drawn back to Lola’s, where they had these adorable Wimbledon-themed cupcakes:

IMG_1663

I decided that I probably couldn’t manage a whole one by myself (maybe justify would be a better word – I definitely could have managed it) but luckily Lola’s do pretty much every single one of their cupcakes in “tiny” form. I opted for my old favourite, the Red Velvet.

IMG_1662

At Β£1.80 for what was essentially a mouthful of cake, it wasn’t cheap, but wow, it was worth it. Quite possibly the best cupcake I’ve ever eaten, with the perfect frosting/cake ratio and so so nice and soft and fresh. I wished I’d bought more of the tiny versions of other flavours to try – they even had the Wimbledon ones in miniature, which were even cuter – but my little baby red velvet left me satisfied nonetheless. Eating it actually meant that I missed the train I had planned on getting on and had to wait another hour in St Pancras for the next one (stupid off peak tickets) but I didn’t care, it was totally worth it!

4 thoughts on “in the city

Leave a Reply

