four go to southwold (part 3)

And so we come to the final installment of our Southwold adventures! I didn’t actually intend to write so many posts about this, so apologies if it’s very boring.

On our last morning all together, we climbed into the Maemobile and headed off to the harbour for a spot of crabbing. Mae and I were new to this (and believe me, it is unusual for Mae to find an outdoor pursuit she hasn’t tried – this is a girl who counts Nordic Skiing as a hobby) but Sophie and Nicole were crabbing experts and showed us how it was done. How it is done, if you’re interested, mostly involves chucking dead fish into the sea and waiting for a crab to be fooled into eating it.

IMG_0659

Have to say, I wasn’t really that good at crabbing and spent most of my time watching the adorable kids around us. After a while, I gave up on the fishing line altogether and took on the role of team photographer.

IMG_0657

IMG_0666

IMG_0672

IMG_0684

Nicole was declared the champion crabber, and we chucked the little creatures back in the sea and headed off on a little walk. It was a bit cold for an ice cream, so we settled for a couple more pictures.

IMG_0689

IMG_0688

By now, it was time to return Sophie to the train station. We waved her off emotionally, but we weren’t too sad because we were heading back for the house for a spot of lunch – cornish pasties, scotch eggs, pies and fab salads from a shop near Nicole’s house (I can’t remember the name, ooooops). For dessert, the highlight of my life:

IMG_0692

HEDGEHOG BISCUITS! These were actually delicious, I am becoming a bit obsessed with coconut lately and these hit the spot just right. We also may have eaten a slice of carrot cake on the side. Good lunch if you ask me.

After all this activity (not to mention the night before) we were all feeling aΒ littleΒ bit tired and so we decided to spend the rest of the afternoon on the sofa. We proceeded to watch 3 films in a row, and if you know me and my film aversion, this will tell you how tired I was. We did also make a very delicious prawn curry which was good going considering the state we were in.

Next morning, we had to get up and leave quite early, but we made a very brief trip back down to the beach hut. Obviously as we were leaving the sun was out, and the coastline looked more spectacular than ever as we said our goodbyes.

IMG_0693

IMG_0695

If you couldn’t tell, I had SUCH a lovely weekend! It was the end of a string of gorgeous weekends and a fab way to relax after the madness, not to mention a much-needed chance to catch up with Mae & Nicole! Huge thanks to Nicole (and her family) for letting us use her house…hopefully we can do it all again next year!

2 thoughts on “four go to southwold (part 3)

  1. I love the idea of crabbing as an activity, I haven’t really tried it properly (unless you count when I was really small lol) That hedgehog look awesome! I love these travel posts, I’d love to hear about your next adventure tooxx

Leave a Reply

