Review: The End of Everything, Megan Abbott

I’m not sure how long it is exactly (hashtag kindle problems), but I finished The End of Everything in a day. I honestly couldn’t put it down. This came as a relief, because I’d been struggling to really get into the other two books I was reading (Then We Came to the End by Joshua Ferris, and The End of Alice by A.M Homes – apparently I am obsessing over endings at the minute) and was beginning to panic that I’d lost all interest in books altogether.

The End of Everything is, on the surface, about 13 year old protagonist, Lizzie, and how she deals with the disappearance of her best friend/soul sister/next door neighbour, Evie. However, it’s also about Evie’s father, Evie’s sister, Evie’s relationship with her sister, Lizzie’s relationship with Evie’s father, and so on and so on. For a book with a preteen protagonist, this is by no means a light read – actually, by any standard, it’s not a light read. Lizzie’s voice is young, but not grating or overly child-like, and her misconceptions are obvious, but not unfounded – which makes them all the more painful. Clearly, Abbott remembers being 13.

Abbott also perfectly captures the closeness of an American suburb. The state is unnamed, although mentions of Canada suggest that it is in the North East, but it could be anywhere, and that, of course, is why it works so well. Like The Basic Eight, it’s timeless and undated while at the same time very familiar.

I rarely do this, but immediately after finishing Everything, I immediately downloaded another of Abbott’s books, Dare Me, which I enjoyed just as much, if not more. I can wholeheartedly recommend The End of Everything – it might possibly even beat out The 100 Year Old Man… for my favourite read of the summer!

With my course starting up again and various other developments, I’m struggling to find time to fit in “fun reading” again – boooo! What are you guys reading right now?

One thought on “Review: The End of Everything, Megan Abbott

Leave a Reply

