Recent Purchases

I’ve been a bit of a naughty girl on the old shopping front lately. I can’t help it – when it’s freezing cold outside and there’s reading to be done, there is literally nothing more fun than endlessly trawling Asos and Etsy. I’ve succumbed probably a little too often than I should have, and as a result I’ve been receiving lots of fun presents through the posts lately. Here’s my little Christmas presents to myself:

First up, my beloved (and wrinkly – I bought this one a while ago!) new Mammal Swag t-shirt. I bought one for my brother for Christmas last year and have been wishing I’d gotten myself one ever since, so when I caught them in the Forum a few weeks ago I couldn’t resist. After much deliberation I went for this dapper fox character, but I love all the designs!

IMG_0188

Also another old purchase but probably the one that started off my little spending spree – this Mac Studio Sculpt foundation, which I got for $20 when I was in the States (bargain!). To be honest I’m not entirely sure I’m completely happy with it – it’s a little thicker than what I’m used to and doesn’t blend as easy as the Benefit Hello Flawless I’ve been using for the last year or so. However, I have noticed that it comes up really well in photos, which is always nice!

IMG_0186

This week I popped into Urban Outfitters for some Christmas present inspiration and could not resist this fig & pear scented candle. It smells gorgeous and it is quite small, but for £6 (£5.40 with student discount, result!) I can’t complain and I’m looking forward to trying out some of the other scents!

IMG_0175

The other day I woke up to an extremely tempting email from Nails Inc. Every so often they come out with a lucky dip or a set for a ridiculously cheap price and so when I saw this fab set of 6 polishes for £20 I figured it would be a crime not to take them up on the offer. I mean really, they’re £11 each normally! From left to right, we have Hyde Park Corner; London; Stratford; Phillimore Gardens; Beaufort Street; and Richmond Terrace, which is the most gorgeous plum shade and not at all black like it looks in the picture.

IMG_0178

They arrived really quickly and I’m loving all the colours and can’t wait to try them all out! I immediately went for Stratford, which is the “mirror metallic” special effects shade. It looks full on gold on the website but it’s actually more of a pinkier rose-gold, which I am totally fine with, and it is so shiny! Definitely a perfect Christmas party shade.

IMG_0182

Finally, my largest purchase. As I mentioned before, I’ve been on the hunt for a new pair of boots and created a pinterest board to aid my search. I was looking back through it and realised I’d pinned the same Rocket Dog pair twice from two different websites, which I took as a sign that they were probably The Ones. When I clicked through one of my links and realised that the Barratts website were offering 25% off everything, I decided it was definitely divine intervention from the Shoe Gods. This afternoon I returned from work to find them waiting for me. I haven’t worn them out yet, but I’m really happy so far with how they look and feel. My first pair of daytime heels – now I’m a real grown up!

IMG_0183

Now it’s time to turn to the really fun part, buying everybody’s Christmas gifts! I’m feeling quite organised and have ideas for most people – mostly thanks to my endless stalking of gift guides and the helpful quiz in the Men’s Health Christmas gift supplement. ‘Tis the season!

2 thoughts on “Recent Purchases

Leave a Reply

