Tree Hunting

Christmas tree hunting is a pretty big deal in the Jolly household. So much so in fact that I literally couldn’t bear the thought of staying alone in Exeter while my family decked out the house, and so I made the last minute decision to return home for a weekend of festive fun.

This morning we woke up to the most perfect blue-sky winter day, donned our best festive gear, and headed out to the most perfect little farm about fifteen minutes from my house. My brother and I were very excited.

IMG_0321

IMG_0322

We have tried out a lot of places over the years, but I honestly can’t think of a more perfect place to pick out a tree. We were warmly welcomed with complimentary mince pies and mulled wine to fuel our search, and let loose on a farm of more than 2000 trees.

IMG_0334

IMG_0335

IMG_0338

Somehow Dom found himself in front of the camera rather a lot.

IMG_0344

IMG_0346

IMG_0349

IMG_0352

Jimmy was also getting involved.

IMG_0355

Eventually, and after much debate (and a gratefully received mulled wine top up), we settled on the perfect two trees and adorned them with a handy label.

IMG_0358

IMG_0362

IMG_0364

Then all we had to do was flag down a very lovely young man who promptly chopped them down for us.

IMG_0368 IMG_0369

IMG_0371

Then there came the small matter of fitting two 7 foot trees in the car! We crammed them in – at the expense of myself and mum, who were left behind. Naturally, the only thing for it was to head to nearby Beckworth Emporium for some hard-earned lunch…but that’s a whole other post.

IMG_0372

As I said, I can’t recommend the christmas tree farm nearly enough: everyone running it was unbelievably lovely and helpful. I don’t think there’s anything more special than picking out your tree and having it cut down in front of your eyes!

Now I’m settling in for an evening of Elf, mulled wine and tree decorating. I’m living up to my name and feeling suitably seasonal!

2 thoughts on “Tree Hunting

Leave a Reply

