Beckworth Emporium

I wrote about Beckworth Emporium way back this summer, but on Saturday when we went there for lunch I just couldn’t resist photographing it again. This time of year it’s all decked out for Christmas, with an absolutely enormous tree.

IMG_0382

IMG_0383

After a brief wander around the aisles of the emporium (I can’t get enough of using that word), mum and I joined the queue for the restaurant, which was outrageously busy, and soon we were seated in the indoor section. While we waited for the others, we indulged in a bread & oils plate with the most delicious sundried tomato & lemon dip.

IMG_0373

For actual lunch, my parents shared the afternoon tea, which has been updated slightly for Christmas and now includes an adorable little mince pie.

IMG_0376

Dom had the daily special, a pulled pork sandwich that looked incredible. I would have had it myself, except Rory and I may have indulged in takeout pulled pork from Hubbox the night before… (and yes, it was absurdly good)

IMG_0374

And I had a chicken and bacon salad – after the mulled wine/mince pie fest during the tree hunt, I was ready for something a little lighter! It was actually really filling though, with SO much chicken on there and a fab honey mustard dressing I substituted for the blue cheese one.

IMG_0377

When we were done and feeling suitably full, there was just time to pick up a few things from the food emporium – including the best carrot cake in the entire world, made by Cook, which I have been hunting down since first year. Seriously, try it – it is INCREDIBLE.

On the way out we obviously couldn’t resist a little trip into the Christmas emporium either. Walls on walls on stacks on stacks of Christmas decorations – what’s not to love?!

IMG_0384

IMG_0385

Definitely a suitably festive way to spend the afternoon: with the Christmas tunes playing and ice skaters on the rink outside, I felt a lot like I was in a made for TV movie. I just love Christmastime!

2 thoughts on “Beckworth Emporium

  1. WOW that chicken salad looks epic! No shame on you at all for going for a lighter option after your pulled pork feast the night before!
    and YES! COOK desserts are the bomb, I remember always leaving the Brighton store with several trays worth of their chocolate brownies- you need to get your mitts on them x x x

Leave a Reply

