Old School Dining

Last week, to mark the beginning of 2014 and as a much-needed essay break for myself, my mum and I decided to go out for lunch. Our destination, Old School Dining, is basically the only cafe/restaurant of any type in our tiny village, so it’s a good thing it’s SO good.

IMG_0725

IMG_0695

IMG_0726

Inside, the bistro is pretty much decorated exactly how I’d like my house to look one day, with kitsch-y, vintage-y decor and literary quotes above the door.

IMG_0697

IMG_0713

IMG_0721

IMG_0719

They change the menu quite regularly but at lunchtime, it does most of your lunch-y classics and this time there were some festive-themed additions. I opted for a baked potato with chilli, while mum had the soup, which was tomato and red pepper and came with THE most delicious looking bread.

IMG_0698

IMG_0710

IMG_0714

IMG_0715

Attached to the bistro is a post office/shop which has a really adorable gift section. I fell in love with these little guys in particular…

IMG_0724

IMG_0722

I love going out for lunch and this was such a nice way to round off the holidays! I’m now back in Exeter (after battling rising floodwaters to get here, naturally) and ready to settle in for another term of essays & work…wish me luck everybody!

4 thoughts on “Old School Dining

Leave a Reply

