Best of the Rest

February has proved to be a very busy month and I’ve been taking a lot of pictures here and there (mostly of food) that haven’t warranted posts for themselves. So here’s what I’ve been up to, and mainly eating, in amongst the rest:

We visited Exeter’s brand new Patisserie Valerie when my parents were down and despite our intentions only to grab a coffee, we ended up sampling their Nata Custard Tart (DIVINE) and also their walnut & pecan tart, which was also incredibly good. I love the decor inside and will definitely be returning, so expect a full post soon!

IMG_0890

IMG_0893

We also squeezed in a trip to my favourite haunt, Hubbox – I had to show it off to the parents! This time I actually got around to trying an actual burger and it was good, as can be expected, but I’m not sure anything can beat the fried chicken sandwich. I’ve almost filled up my loyalty card already which is maybe a little bit shameful.

IMG_0898

My favourite person and I extended Valentine’s Day over two days (because why not) and spent Thursday evening at Las Iguanas, which I have been wanting to visit since it opened in November. I went for the Henrique Rapadura, or Lamb Henry as we christened him, mostly because of the name, and it was delicious – the sauce on the lamb was just the right amount of sweet and I have been fantasising about it ever since.

IMG_0918

On V-Day itself we ate chocolate fingers for breakfast, went to the Waitrose cafe for cake (it was too rainy to go anywhere else), and he cooked up a delicious feast (also courtesy of Waitrose) of steak, new potatoes & red cabbage for dinner. It is impossible to photograph anything in our little yellow-lit kitchen/living room, but here is our dessert: the most gorgeous white chocolate & morello cherry mousses.

IMG_0926

Finally, this week called for a trip to Giraffe to celebrate a friend’s birthday with dinner and cocktails. My favourites were the Apple & Elderflower Martini (that’s always my favourite) and the Strawberry Mule, but sadly they ran out of vodka early on so I moved on to the “Skinny Ginny” and the mango & lime daiquiri for the rest of the night. To eat, I had a chicken & prawn salad which tasted distinctly average, but it looked quite good.

IMG_0933

IMG_0938

IMG_0935

With all this eating having been going on, you are sure to see me rolling around a town near you pretty soon…what have you all been up to?!

3 thoughts on “Best of the Rest

Leave a Reply

