Laura Mercier Second Skin & Benefit Brow Zings

So as I mentioned in my Spring Essentials post, I recently splashed out on a couple of new additions to my makeup collection.

First up, this gorgeous Laura Mercier “Second Skin” blush in Sweet Mandarin.

IMG_0995

IMG_0994

IMG_0990

Funny story: I actually had my heart set on buying Bobbi Brown blusher in Apricot, but they didn’t have it in stock and as soon as I tried out this one I knew I had to have it – I’m all about instant gratification! Anyway, I’ve never used Laura Mercier makeup before and I’ve been really impressed. The little compact is very sleek and perfectly sized for chucking in whatever bag you’re taking anywhere, and it has a little mirror too if you need to top up on the go (I am no stranger to doing my makeup on the train).

IMG_0997

In the tester pan it looked really shimmery and I was a bit worried it might be too much for everyday use, but actually it gives a really nice warm glow and it’s really easily buildable so you can go as subtle or as bold as you like. The powder is quite loose once you get a brush to it which has resulted in quite a lot of fallout, but I’m hoping that will stop when it’s not so new and full. It’s also nice and easy to blend – I don’t go for the “two pink stripes” look – and I’ve noticed it has great staying power. At £20.50 it’s not cheap (I’m sort of kicking myself because I’ve been saying I’ll buy the similarly-priced Nars Orgasm for ages and totally forgot about it in the heat of the moment) but I think it’s pretty much an investment piece, as makeup goes (that’s a thing, right?!). I think it’s going to work really well with a tan, especially with the slight gold shimmer, so it’ll see me through summer as well – ideal!

IMG_0993

Unlike my impulsive blusher buy, Benefit’s Brow Zings has been on my wishlist for months. After they released Gimme Brow I wavered for a while, wondering whether or not to go for that instead, but in the end I decided that BrowZings offers a bit more flexibility in creating different looks and it will probably last longer. I have had it for a couple of weeks now and I honestly can’t remember what I did without it. My biggest worry with this was that a) it would be easy to go wrong and b) it would take ages in the morning, but it takes no time at all and it really makes SUCH a difference to your overall look.

IMG_1014

It’s all over the blogosphere, but just in case you haven’t seen inside one of these genius little kits before, you get a pan of wax (the darker one), which you use to shape/fill in and one of powder, which sets everything in place and makes everything a little darker. I’ve been using just the wax if I want a subtler look, or mixing them together, and adding more of the powder if I want to make a bit more of a statement. The brushes are really small which can be a bit fiddly but it also means that you’re unlikely to go horribly wrong and it makes it easy to keep things quite subtle. The set comes in 2 colours, light (which is more reddy toned, for if you’re a blonde or a redhead or even brown with reddier tones) or dark, which I’ve got, and it retails at £23.50. I have a feeling this is going to last for a really long time and I am SO glad I invested – I have seen the eyebrow light!

4 thoughts on “Laura Mercier Second Skin & Benefit Brow Zings

    1. I’d really recommend it – I never used to do anything with my eyebrows really but I have been amazed what a difference it makes! I used to just use a dark brown eyeshadow to fill in before I got it though and that works too haha

      Bxx

Leave a Reply

