Scents of Summer

It’s no secret that I’ve developed a total and utter obsession with perfumes. I used to be all about developing the signature scent and I’d use one perfume religiously (Marc Jacobs Daisy, and then Chance Eau Fraiche, both of which I adore, and Jimmy Choo, which I definitely overused) until it ran out.

However, now I’m embracing a wider range. I’m still obsessed with Tom Ford’s Black Orchid, but it’s definitely an evening scent. With spring definitely upon us, it’s time to turn my attention (and my nose) to some lighter, daytime fragrances and lucky for me my favourite fragrance houses have been bringing out some gorgeous ones! Here’s a little rundown of my favourites so far. I’ve linked them all through to John Lewis to keep things easy but I bet you can find deals online if you want one…

Marc Jacobs Dot

 

I’ve had a sample tube of this but a while now and while I was indifferent to it at first, now I LOVE it. I’m a huge Marc Jacobs fan anyway, and this berry-scented concoction is perfect for summer days.

See By Chloe

See by Chloe is my go-to when I’m at work. I saw it on a really good offer in the January sales and I wish I’d bought it! It has notes of apple blossom, bergamot, ylang ylang, jasmine and vanilla so it’s quite a gentle, sweet scent, has great staying power, and comes in a really gorgeous, simple bottle that reminds me of a birdcage. What’s not to love?

L’Eau Couture by Elie Saab

L’Eau Couture by Elie Saab is gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous! I wasn’t sure about it when I first smelt it because I think it smells a bit like grass at first (not sure why, it has topnotes of bergamot & magnolia), but it dries beautifully and it’s a perfect fresh spring fragrance that I really love. Plus the bottle is really pretty and the perfume itself is a mint green colour that is bang on trend right now.

If you’re not looking to splash out on a new perfume, though (and I can’t really afford to) I am all about spring-scented lotions & bodywashes, and nobody does those better than Molton Brown. All of their scents are gorgeous, but their limited edition spring release, Rhubarb and Rose, is to die for. I don’t tend to like rose-scented things, but the rhubarb in this is fab and the hand lotion will leave your hands smelling nicely, subtly sweet alllll day long.

While I’m on the subject of Molton Brown, their Coco & Sandalwood body lotion (& matching body wash) is also delicious. I’m obsessed with coconut scented things and have made my way through my tub of Body Shop coconut body butter in record time, but the sandalwood in this adds a clean, fresh dimension that feels a bit more grown up than plain coconut. At £25 a bottle it’s not exactly cheap, but everyone deserves a treat, right?!

What are your favourite spring/summer scents?

 

5 thoughts on “Scents of Summer

    1. Haha it is so lovely, go smell it somewhere! Have you tried Gucci Guilty? Or I also loveee Bvlgari Crystalline Omnia in Coral or Thierry Mugler just brought out a new version of Alien that is gorgeous – I could go on forever!

      Bxx

Leave a Reply

