Afternoon Tea at the Talbot

So, as I said it has been a hectic, fun-packed week. After Russell Brand on Thursday night (highly recommend the show if you’re even the slightest fan and can get tickets to his tour!), some high spirited betting on the Grand National (I won nothing; mummy J put a wise bet on the eventual winner) and another fab meal at my old favourite The Pheasant, Sunday afternoon saw yet another activity: afternoon tea. We were initally considering Beckworth Emporium, but we always go there and so this time we decided to venture a bit further afield to The Talbot, in nearby-ish Oundle.

As towns go, Oundle is pretty picture-perfect and I couldn’t resist giving it the photoshoot treatment as we walked all of thirty yards from the car to the hotel.

IMG_1301

IMG_1302

IMG_1303

IMG_1304

IMG_1305

IMG_1306

IMG_1308

The Talbot itself is hidden away around a little courtyard and is a perfect blend of old and new – it reminds me a little bit of the Magdalen Chapter back in Exe, actually. We settled ourselves on comfy sofas, where there was an array of newspapers to dig into, and maltesers in little shot glasses to accompany tea and coffee. So far, so good!

IMG_1309

IMG_1310

IMG_1313

IMG_1315

IMG_1327

My mum and sister both went for their traditional afternoon tea. It is a little cake heavy (and doesn’t feature scones!) but looks impressive nonetheless and the jelly in little jam jars is an adorable touch if you ask me (excuse my sister’s discarded tomatoes!)

IMG_1320

IMG_1325

Gemma opted for a pork sandwich, but I made by far the best menu choice if I do say so myself and went for the Talbot Club, which is an “open sandwich” involving chicken, lettuce, maple-cured bacon and tomato – all topped with a perfect fried egg. It was quite possibly the best sandwich I have ever eaten.

IMG_1322

IMG_1323

The best thing about this sandwich is that it (hopefully) is super easy to recreate at home. I’m definitely planning on getting some avocado involved and making my own version. If you’re ever in the area and make a stop by The Talbot, I HIGHLY recommend this sandwich! We also ordered a couple of sides of chips which were hand cut, thick and generally delicious.

Service left maybe a little to be desired – relaxed at best, absent at worst, but overall it was a lovely, relaxed dining experience that perfectly fitted a slightly drizzly Sunday afternoon. And that sandwich!

4 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea at the Talbot

Leave a Reply

