Adulthood

Sorry it’s been a bit quiet around here! I’m currently working on a big presentation and I’ve been keeping busy making lots of little trips to M&S and Boston Tea Party but nothing really blogworthy. However, today I’m off to Dubrovnik for a spontaneous long weekend so rest assured there are some exciting posts coming!

In the meantime, I’ve been thinking about that big scary word – adulthood. If you’d have asked me when I was about 15, I probably would have told you that, two months before my 22nd birthday, I’d be living it up in some sort of swanky London flat and a job in some similarly flashy creative industry like a real adult. I’m not, I’m living in an Exeter student house that until very recently had a hideous mould problem, and spending half my daysΒ selling perfumes and the rest researching the corrupt world of American college sports. I wouldn’t call myself a real adult by any means, but occasionally I catch myself doing something and think to myself – my God, I’m a grown up. Here’s a little list of some of the little things that scream ADULT to me and my quarter-life crisis.

  • Having a glass of wine with lunch, cause why not? (Bonus points for stopping at 1)
  • Wearing nude nail varnish
  • Ringing the tax office and at least sounding like you know what you’re talking about
  • Packing a raincoat to go on the holiday you booked 10 days before departure
  • Idly planning wedding outfits (for non-existent weddings) during downtime at work
  • Getting excited over avocados and M&S deli deals – although in fairness, this has been a trait of mine for many years now
  • When parents refer to you as “the lady” when talking to their children

What makes you stop and think oh-my-god-I’m-a-grown-up?! Like I said, I’m off for a rainy weekend in Croatia so I’ll catch ya on the other side!

3 thoughts on “Adulthood

  1. Dubrovnik is amazing, enjoy that! I hope you get some sun. Are you a Game of Thrones fan? If so it’s where they filmed King’s Landing.

    Adulthood is definitely overrated, too many grown up problems and responsibilities in my opinion. Why can we stay young and students forever?

  2. Aaah ‘the lady’! That old chestnut! Instant grown upness.
    I’m way late with this so hope you had/are having an awesome time! Croatia is very high up on my list so can’t wait to have a good nose about.
    M x

Leave a Reply

