Taking Stock

IMG_2077

It may only seem like a couple of weeks since Christmas, but somehow or other we’ve reached the midpoint of the year. With the end of my time in Exeter coming up fast, this seems like as good a time as any to look back at the last six months (and the last academic year, actually) and have a good old reflect.

To be honest, I was told time and time again that I shouldn’t do an English MA just for the sake of another year in Exeter and in many ways, everybody that told me that was absolutely right. I’ve enjoyed most of my modules this year well enough and I’m in the middle of writing the dissertation that I probably should have just written last year, but to be honest, I don’t feel like this course has given me much more than my undergrad did. I feel like if I hadn’t done the MA and had just sucked it up and found an internship, I probably would have got a job of some description and things would have worked out – but I didn’t and at the end of the day, I’ve got some extra letters next to my name and a newfound knowledge of Victorian fiction, creative writing, and American sport.

And that’s not to say that I haven’t learnt a lot or enjoyed this year, because I have. I stumbled into a job that I actually really like, which in turn has made me realise that yep, I’m good at talking to people and figuring out what they want and how to keep them happy, and, more importantly, that I love doing it. I’ve had a little shift in career hopes & dreams and I’ve gotten to do way more things and learn way more skills than I had anticipated from a part time retail job. I’ve also learnt a hell of a lot more about beauty than I could ever have imagined and I fully plan to keep my nose firmly in the fragrance world (geddit) – and, of course, I’ve embraced the beauty world and have even done what I thought I never would and introduced a healthy dose of beauty blogging to my life. (And, of course, got together with a certain boy who’d pout at me if I didn’t mention him!)

Speaking of blogging, this little blog here has grown quite a bit too. I’m approaching 100 wordpress/email subscribers and my Bloglovin figures (while tiny compared to most bloggers out there!) keep me pretty happy these days (although please feel free to stroke my ego and give me a follow if you’re not already!). I’ve also discovered some great new bloggers recently through twitter/instagram/various other social networks, and my aim for these next few weeks is to really engage with them all and make sure I leave lots of comments and tweets and favourites and everything else. I participated properly in my first ever “Lbloggers chat” last week (hosted by the lovely and hilarious Michelle) and it was great fun and really inspired me to make more effort with my commenting. I love it so much when people do those things for me so I’m going to try my best to do the same – I’m definitely guilty of reading a post, enjoying it, and then clicking through to the next one before I even think about it!

I’m not really sure what the rest of this year will bring me but whatever it is, I’m ready for a change. I wasn’t ready to leave Exeter this time last year and now I’m slightly too ready – I’ve never been this excited to go home. But whatever happens, I know I’ll probably always have a special place in my heart for little old Exeter and the little corner of the South West that’s been my on-and-off home since I arrived, fresh faced and just turned 18, almost four years ago (WHAT?!). And in the meantime, if anyone’s got any jobs going…let me know, okay?

(PS. Shout out to the person in Australia who apparently read almost every post I’ve ever posted on here the other night! Please say hello!)

9 thoughts on “Taking Stock

  1. You will figure it all out soon enough – there’s no rush :) Very best of luck with the move back home. Love from a new reader :) xxx

  2. I honestly believe timing is everything. If you hadn’t have done your MA this year think of all the experiences you wouldn’t have had. You also sound like you’ve learnt a lot about yourself too, something that is beyond valuable. Loved reading this post!

    Hannah xx

  3. Wow, that’s really exciting that you’re off and moving onto different things! And great that you found a job that helped you to learn a lot about what you enjoy and your future, I’ve just finished my second year and have two more left… I don’t know what I’ll do when I finish! The Lbloggers also sounds interesting.. I definitely want to know more about that!

    Imogen x

    1. Haha well you have a lot of time to think about it at least! Almost everyone I know has fallen into something or other no matter what they planned so I’m kind of hoping the same will happen to me…and it’s a twitter chat! It happens every Wednesday and Sunady 7 – 8 PM with the hashtag #lbloggers and each time it’s hosted by a different person with a different topic – I’ve kind of seen it loads but never really participated but I’m so glad I did, it’s a great way to find new bloggers and chat with the ones whose blogs you already read!

      Bxx

  4. I really enjoyed reading this :) Just think of your experiences as a learning curve and the fact that you’re ready for the real world now is definitely a good thing,i still feel too young for a big grown up girl job haha! Good luck with the end of your dissertation the end is in sight, and when the times right you will land yourself a fab job, i’m telling myself the same haha! xx

  5. End of an era time? Always a weird little thing but it does sound like you’ve learnt so much in the last few years (Devon is a place of discovery…they should put that on the signs!) Wishing you all the luck with whatever you decide to do next, just follow your nose ;-) and you’ll be fine and dandy.
    M x

    1. Thanks so much (and sorry it’s taken me so long to reply!) Haha I feel like Devon has indeed been an ideal place for self discovery – lots of good spots for (cider induced?) reflection!

      Bxx

Leave a Reply

