A Golden Birthday

When I was living in the US, I heard a lot about the “golden birthday” – the year you turn the same age as the date of your birthday. I still haven’t figured out if this is a thing in the UK or not, but this year I turned 22 on the 22nd and so I was determined to embrace it – so much so that I decided to stretch my celebrations over an entire 7 days. The fun began on Tuesday with a pancake breakfast and an actual hour of Taylor Swift’s 22 on repeat (I’m not even kidding…)

IMG_2134

IMG_2141

IMG_2147

The boy came down to visit (my very best birthday treat), so after we picked him up from the station we set about making my own birthday cake, courtesy of my friend Sofie’s super cool castle-shaped cake tin. We didn’t end up making nearly enough cake mix so we ended up with more of a ruin, but it tasted good anyway!

IMG_2156

IMG_2159

I was left feeling like one spoilt princess by the gorgeous gifts everyone got me, including the ultimate in frat boy fashion (white Sperrys, naturally…which I may have since dripped mango ice cream all over), some new Real Techniques brushes (I may have pointed my brother in direction of Lookfantastic…) and my most grown up present yet, a gorgeous bouquet of flowers that my parents sent to the door.

IMG_2146

IMG_2152

I’m going to do a whole post for my birthday dinner, but safe to say it was a lovely chilled day and I went to bed feeling very spoilt indeed. The fun didn’t end there, though. The next couple of days were a gorgeous blur of sunshine, al fresco dining all day every day and a whole lot of relaxing…

IMG_2194

IMG_2197

IMG_2202

We even got some exercise in with a long bike ride, a little go on an obstacle course and even a zip wire thrown in there…just call me action man!

IMG_2203

IMG_2204

IMG_2205

IMG_2206

IMG_2209

IMG_2215

I volunteered Matt & I to cook a BBQ for the family, which, naturally, meant that he did all the BBQing and IΒ watched.

IMG_2217

IMG_2222

IMG_2223

IΒ can’t think of a better way to have spent my birthday – and as it turned out, these couple of days of gorgeous relaxation and fun were exactly what I needed because Thursday evening brought a train to London and the beginning of a jam-packed weekend…but that’s another post!

What have you guys been up to lately? Hope you’re all making the most of this sunshine!

9 thoughts on “A Golden Birthday

  1. It looks like you have a wonderful birthday – it’s my golden birthday next year being 21 on the 21st! I’ll see if I can make it last a week too :) Happy (very) belated birthday too xxx

    Jemma // Jemma In Words

  2. I’ve never heard of a golden birthday! I missed out on mine anyway as it’s the 12th May! Haha. Gorgeous pictures, looks like you had a lovely couple of days x

  3. A week long birthday?! Now that’s something that I can get on board with. That cake looks delicious, and quite amazing as castle ruins haha. So much yummy food!
    Can’t say I’m making the most of the sunshine, the sunshine isn’t making the most of the sunshine… It’s all rain and gloom for me :(

  4. Happy belated birthday :D Looks like you had such an amazing week, and very spoilt!The RT brushes are amazing! I have never heard of golden birthdays before, i will be 30 on mine :o haha!xx

  5. I’m way behind but belated happy golden birthday – sounds like you made the absolute most of it!! Tasty trumps pretty in the cake stakes every time.
    I’ve never heard of a golden birthday but sadly I’m about 19 years too late for mine, sad times.
    M x

Leave a Reply

