Degustabox: July

I’ve read loads about Degustaboxes and I’m sure you all have too, if your bloggy reading list is anything like mine. I always like reading what people get in them, I wasn’t about to pay for one for the purpose of my blog. However, when I got home to find that my mum already has a subscription, I figured I might as well add my thoughts on this month’s offerings!

For those that don’t know, Degustabox is basically the Birchbox/Glossybox/etc etcΒ of the food world. I won’t go as far to call it “foodie” stuff as most of it is actually pretty common supermarket brands, so actually it works as a good way to try out things you can find easily but might not have picked up otherwise. From what my mum tells me, they’re a bit up and down in terms of what you get, but I think they’re only about Β£10 so they’re always good value. Our box arrived last week and we had a lot of fun opening it (Christmas in July anyone) – here’s what we got:

IMG_2314

IMG_2316

Portlebay Popcorn

I went through a huge popcorn phase just before I left Exeter and actually once bought the bacon & maple syrup in Waitrose. I wasn’t actually sure I liked it very much but it was definitely addictive and I made my way through the huge bag without too much trouble so it’s obviously got something going for it. We ate the sweet & salty pretty much as soon as it arrived though and that was delicious, and I’m fairly sure I’ve had the chilli & lime before and enjoyed it, so a thumbs up from me overall.

IMG_2324

Hornsby’s Blueberry Cider

This was a timely offering given how much I liked Matthew’s Hornsby’s when we went to Missoula. I haven’t tried it yet but I’m very excited to do so – I love blueberry things as a rule so hopefully this is as yummy as the original!

IMG_2322

Zeo Drinks

I keep seeing these in shops and I don’t really understand what they are. I don’t really drink anything other than water (and alcohol, obvs) so I definitely wouldn’t buy them, but I’ll certainly give them a go if someone else in the fam opens one!

IMG_2317

Green & Black’s Lemon Dark Chocolate

This was probably the one I was most excited to try as I’m a huge fan of G&B chocolate. I’m a bit back-and-forward on lemon flavoured things – I think I have to be in the right mood for it so I was really interested to see what this was like. When I first tried it I was a little bit thrown – I think it almost tastes herby alongside the lemon, which was a bit of a surprise. But after considering it for a while (and having several more squares) I concluded that I actually do like it. It’s so smooth and creamy, like all G&B chocolate, and I’ll be keeping my eye out for their other adventurous flavours!

IMG_2318

Maggi Sachets

In other Degustabox reviews I’ve seen a few people saying how 6 of these seemed a bit much and I kind of agree. However, we did get three different flavours in these: piri piri chicken tray bake x2, a cheesy chicken thing that I will be staying away from, and a beef & ale stew pack. I’ve used the herby chicken wrap things in this same range before (where you just wrap the papyrus paper around the chicken and fry it) and they worked really well so I’m keen to see how these work out. They’re always useful to have in the cupboard anyway so I wasn’t too disappointed in their inclusion!

IMG_2320

Dr Oetker Toppings – Eton Mess & Violet Crystals

I’m always excited to see sparkly things to put on cakes!Β These have been put in the baking cupboard for now but I’m sure they’ll get used – I’m excited to figure out a few recipes to use them with when I get back from Portugal, so keep your eyes peeled because I’m sure they’ll pop up on the blog!

I definitely don’t have the ££ to justify a Degustabox for myself right now but I do think they’re a great idea and I know in my family of 5, pretty much everything gets eaten by someone or other. They’re a fun way to experiment, and it’s nice to know that you can pick up everything in each box fairly easily in your average supermarket. What do you guys think – have you ever tried a food subscription box? How’d you think they stack up to beauty boxes??

(PS! I’m currently sunning myself in Portugal and have been a super organised blogger for once and left a few posts scheduled to tide me over until I get back. I have got wifi so I’ll hopefully be able to keep track of all your comments and so on but I’ll catch up properly when I get back!)

One thought on “Degustabox: July

  1. Rubbish blogger alert: I’ve never even heard of a Degustabox!! I want.
    Not completely convinced by the lemon G&Bs though but I’ll try anything once.
    M x

Leave a Reply

