The New Year Post

I’ve got a good feeling about 2015.

2014, like the year before it, was a year of uncertainty and of not really knowing where I was going to be at the end of it. 2013 seemed like it was a year of change, but actually, 2014 saw the biggest and most drastic changes and it’s pretty safe to say that I started a whole new life.

This time last year, I was battling my way through flood-stricken South West England in an attempt to get back to my mould-ridden house and the part time job that had already surprised me by becoming one of my favourite things about my little Exeter life.

I didn’t know what would happen past handing in my Masters dissertation (at that point, actually, I don’t think I’d thought as far as that – January’s essays were impending enough). In January, I interviewed for and was offered a paid internship at a PR firm for September, and, that, at least, gave me an answer to the dreaded question “what are you doing when you finish?”

Fast forward a few months and, in the midst of finishing up said dissertation, I was offered another, more permanent internship at a slightly smaller company that was almost nothing to do with what I thought I wanted to do, but whose team had seemed a far better fit for me. After some deliberation, I gambled with the smaller company and so began my life in London, kickstarted with a good 6 weeks of homelessness.

Finding somewhere to live was harder than I had ever imagined (I know, I know…everybody and their wife says this) but, eventually, we had an offer accepted on a beautiful flat in Greenwich that I now adore. Not too long after that, my internship was made permanent, and now at the start of 2015, I find myself enjoying a real life job, an easy-peasy 30 min commute, a balcony, and grown up things like a coffee machine and a Jo Malone candle. Life. Is. Good.

And as for this blog? I definitely peaked probably in the summer, when I made a huge effort to be part of the blogging “community” and I was seeing very definite results. I was a very bad blogger towards the end of the year and have no doubt that my “readership” is now way down, but to be perfectly honest I don’t want to force it. I am going to make a concerted effort to be better this year, though, and with a series of exciting events already planned for January and beyond, hopefully I will make it!

So – like I said, I’ve got a good feeling about this year. Short of a major disaster, it seems like the only way is up, and I for one can’t wait to see where I am this time next year.

2 thoughts on “The New Year Post

    1. Happy New Year to you too Hannah! You have actually inspired me to write a post about finding/applying for internships (guess what I’ve spent my afternoon doing?!), so keep your eyes peeled next week :)

      Bxx

Leave a Reply

