Exploring Greenwich: Greenwich Park

I’ve been living in Greenwich for almost three months now, and we’ve spent enough lazy weekend days wandering around its streets for me to have developed some of my favourite spots. Greenwich is pretty much the dream because it’s cutesy and old-timey and dotted with pubs, boutiques and bakeries, but it’s also ten minutes from the hustle and bustle of central London – and on the river to boot – but without a doubt one of its highlights is the gorgeous Greenwich Park.

My current favourite time to visit is at about 4, when winter sunsets are just beginning. On our last visit, Matthew and I took the more roundabout route, going all the way around the park rather than straight up the hill. The observatory is even more impressive from afar, if you ask me!

There is also a fair amount of wildlife to be spotted. I amused myself trying to get pictures of the multitude of fat little squirrels running around. They are so tame it’s unbelievable.

There is also a deer enclosure in the park which might be one of my favourite parts. It’s difficult to get a picture through the fence, but you can just about make them out I think…

We took a stroll down “Lovers Walk” which was looking suitably autumnal and lovely.

You might remember that Greenwich was home to the Equestrian events at the 2012 Olympics, and it is super easy to see why they picked this location. I especially love the contrast between the old-time splendour of the Queen’s House & Royal Naval College buildings, and Canary Wharf poking out behind.

But of course, the piece de resistance of Greenwich Park is the view from the top of the hill itself. Time it right with a sunset and it makes for one of my very favourite London sights.

Having this on my doorstep is one of many things that makes me stop at the top of the hill and remember that I am so lucky to be able to call it home (cringe alert). I already can’t wait for summer weekends full of picnics in the park, and in the meantime I’m having fun wrapping up warm and living vicariously through all the dog-walkers and their adorable puppies!

Have you ever been to Greenwich? What are your favourite parts? Like I mentioned, I want to make this a bit of a series of my favourite areas, eateries and so on, so let me know if you have any recommendations!

Leave a Reply

