The Paddington Trail

So as some of you may have noticed, in the (few) posts I managed before Christmas, I became a little bit obsessed with the army of Paddingtons that had sprung up around London. I set myself a mission to see as many of them as I could, and so it was in these interests that Matthew and I set off to Paddington itself one day in early December in order to cram as many as possible into one day.

We started, of course, with a traditional Paddington. Having since seen the movie (which is GREAT), I was very pleased to note thatΒ actualΒ Paddington stands in this exact spot!

There were, obviously, a lot more Paddingtons in the area around the station. I’ve never really explored it very thoroughly so it was nice to walk around and I fell in love with Little Venice. It may be an hour’s trip by tube but it is so nice and I am excited to go back in summer.

I particularly enjoyed this stylish Lulu Guinness suitcase…

…And Johnathan Ross’ contribution was interesting.

Our stroll took us down into Hyde Park, which we hit just before sunset. It was suitably stunning!

This is Hugh Bonneville (Mr Brown in the movie)’s design, which I loved (and which also has one of the best locations, in my opinion)

And from there, it was down to the Palace to see one of my most-anticipated Paddingtons – one Mr David Beckham’s.

And finally, into Soho and Central London. I’m still not entirely sure what I made of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s “Cats” Paddington…

Leicester Square was eyewateringly busy but we battled our way through to find this gold number.

I had a bit of a I Love London moment in Trafalgar Square, standing watching everyone come and go and all those endless “floating” street entertainers: it had been the most perfect day!

Our final stop was Covent Garden, where we spotted our last 2 Paddingtons of the day. It was dark by this point and Covent Garden was suitably packed, so my photographs were suffering!

We wrapped up our day with a visit to Shake Shack, where I had an incredible (although very small) hot dog (celery salt = my fave) and we then “accidentally” bought 7 Ben’s Cookies between us, and headed home. It was the kind of day that made me feel very lucky indeed to be living in a city where you can walk from canal to park to palace to Theatreland all in the space of a few hours, and I guess I have Paddington to thank for reminding me!

The Paddingtons have sadly disappeared, but if you get a chance to see the movie, you definitely should because it is funny and wonderful and great.

4 thoughts on “The Paddington Trail

  1. It is sad – I wish they could have stayed forever! They seem to have been replaced by artsy buses so keep your eye out for those instead ;) And definitely see the movie!

    Bxx

Leave a Reply

