Couch to 5k: Weeks 3 & 4

It’s been a while since I gave an update on my C25k adventures, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been doing it. That said – I have to admit I’ve slipped a little bit and am probably about a week behind where I should be (and suffering because of it!). But in my efforts to keep accountable, I figure it’s high time for a quick update.

To be fair, I continued to find weeks 3 and 4 relatively easy and rewarding. Week 3 involves 90 seconds of running / 90 secs of walking, followed by 3 minutes of running / 3 minutes of walking, then repeat. This sounds way more complex than it was, and I was surprised on my first go how difficult I found 3 minutes. But by the time the second repetition rolled around, and then the following two days, I got into my stride and consistently felt like I could do more. Good news! (Although it was a little bit disheartening when I figured out I was still only actually running for 9 mins total).

Week 4 sounded even more complex, with 3 minutes of running followed by 90 seconds of walking, followed by 5 minutes of running; 2.5 mins walking; 3 mins running; 90 secs walking; and 5 mins running. Mathematicians amongst you may have already figured out that this is quite a big jump in total running minutes (up to 16 mins from 9), and the first time I ran more than I walked. It was easier than I imagined and I found that the amount of sections meant that these runs went by fastest. Mind you, I was definitely ready to stop by the end of the last 5 minutes.

However, this was also the week where my routine & schedule went a little bit downhill. I’m going to blame the bank holiday (and a monster 2 day hangover that nearly killed me) – although it seemed like I’d have loads more time to run, I found that without my usual routine I didn’t really make the time.Β I did my last run on Easter Monday, though, after a weekend of excess and alcohol, and found that it was actually the easiest of the three.Β Take from that what you will, kids!

Since then I’ve embarked on week 5, which has been a bit of a rollercoaster so far and definitely deserves its own post, and rewarded myself with some jazzy sports leggings. Look out for that update next week!

If you’ve done C25K I’d love to hear about your experiences – at what point did you find it got really hard? What did you do to keep up motivation/

4 thoughts on “Couch to 5k: Weeks 3 & 4

Leave a Reply

